The Little Phone That’s One of the Big Guys!

How many times have you heard the word ‘intuitive’ when a company is talking about its newest product?  How intuitive is it really once you’ve bought it?  There’s usually a learning curve ranging from OK to HUH??!!!

The HP Veer is a product that correctly calls itself ‘intuitive.’   This is one of the simplest full-featured phones I’ve ever tried.

I’m not a phone guru or afficianado. I don’t need to have the newest and greatest as long as what I’m using still does everything I need it to do.  Proof of this is that I just recently gave up my trusty old T-Mobile Dash when it finally gave up.  

The phone I used in the interim before getting the HP Veer was OK, but I never figured out all the bells and whistles.  The phone worked, Outlook worked and that was about it.  I didn’t have time to figure out the rest of it.  I live in one of those areas where cell reception is iffy at best, so I wasn’t that motivated to make everything work. 

While I was at HP Discover, I met a couple of WebOS experts – Rich Dunbar and George Salcedo – both writers for WebOS Roundup.  They introduced me to the HP Veer.  I played with George’s while there and couldn’t believe how easy it was to use, and use to the promises.

One of the first things you’ll see is “Just type.”  It means just that.  If there isn’t an icon on the main screen to what you want, typing in a word or phrase navigates you to the location.

I love that I can open multiple windows, just like on my desktop and navigate around quickly and easily.  In fact, I loved the phone so much that I decided it was time to see what we could do to increase our reception at the house (and we did!).  More on that later, too.

There will be more to come as I use the HP Veer more.  In the meantime, check out all the details for yourself at HP.

  

Leave a Reply

